Government Structure

Paducah's Form of Government

Paducah operates under a City Manager Plan form of government.  On November 8, 1932, the citizens of Paducah voted to become a City Manager form of Government.  The Paducah Board of Commissioners is made up of the Mayor and four Commissioners elected at large by the citizens on a non-partisan basis.  The Mayor is elected for a four-year term and Commissioners for a two-year term.  The Mayor and Commissioners have equal voting powers.

The Paducah Board of Commissioners sets the policies that govern the City.  It appoints advisory citizen groups that help in the decision-making process.  The City Manager is appointed by the Board and assists it in formulating objectives, policies, and programs.  The City Manager is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the City's approximately 330 full-time employees.  Department directors are responsible for their respective departments and report directly to the City Manager

List of Paducah's Mayors
List of Paducah's City Managers
List of Paducah's Commissioners